President Nayib Bukele Announces 44 Countries To Meet In El Salvador To Discuss Bitcoin

Late Sunday night, El Salvador President Nayib Bukele revealed on Twitter that 32 central banks and 12 financial authorities from 44 countries are to satisfy on Monday, May 16, to discuss financial inclusion, digital economy, banking the unbanked, the El Salvadors Bitcoin rollout and its advantages in the country.In follow up tweets, the president revealed that the Central Bank of São Tomé and Príncipe, Central Bank of Paraguay, National Bank of Angola, Bank of Ghana, Bank of Namibia, Bank of Uganda, Central Bank of the Republic of Guinea, Central Bank of Madagascar, Bank of the Republic of Haiti, and the Bank of the Republic of Burundi, Central Bank of Eswatini and its Ministry of Finance, Central Bank of Jordan, Central Bank of The Gambia, National Committee of Banks and Seguros of Honduras, Directorate General of Treasury, Ministry of Finance and Budget, Madagascar, and the Maldives Monetary Authority are amongst those that will be attending.Bukele included that the National Bank of Rwanda, Nepal Rastra Bank, Sacco Societies Regulatory Authority (SASRA), Kenya, State Bank of Pakistan, General Superintendency of Financial Entities of Costa Rica, Superintendence of the Popular and Solidarity Economy of Ecuador, and the Central Bank of El Salvador will also be in attendance.On Friday, May 13, the Twitter account for Bitcoin Beach announced that “Central bankers from Angola, Armenia, Bangladesh, Burundi, Congo, Costa Rica, Egypt, Gambia, Ghana, India, Namibia, Senegal, Sundan, Uganda, Zambia and 25 other developing countries are getting on airplanes today to fly to El Salvador.” Image via Bitcoin BeachIt took 12 years for the first nation to adopt Bitcoin, around 8 months for the 2nd, and if Panamas president indications their current Bitcoin expense into law, then they will be the 3rd only about a month after the second.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.